noobilike.blogg.se

How to make a new file on photoshop using groups
How to make a new file on photoshop using groups






how to make a new file on photoshop using groups

I suggest you do this as soon as you create a group. What are some other things you can do with Layer groups? To contract the group, click on the triangle again. You can tell which layers are included in the group because Photoshop indents the layers a bit. To expand the Layer group, click on the triangle. You can see that you’re working with a Layer group because the icon in the Layers panel changes to a triangle pointing to a folder. As you can see, Layer groups really do keep the Layers panel so much more manageable.Ģ. First off, let me show you images of contracted and expanded Layer groups from one of my recent layouts. What do you need to know about Layer groups?ġ.

  • That’s it! The group you just created will be placed in the Layers panel at the location of the TOP most layer you highlighted in step 1.
  • Third Method: Click on the Create a New Group button (it looks like a file folder) at the bottom or top of the layers palette (depending on what version of PS you have). Second Method: Go to Layer > Group Layers Using these keystrokes is my preferred method. Like all things in Photoshop there are multiple ways to do the same thing.

    How to make a new file on photoshop using groups mac#

  • With the layers highlighted, create the group by pressing CMD-G on a MAC or CTRL-G on a PC.
  • To choose noncontiguous layers, CMD-Click individual layers.

    how to make a new file on photoshop using groups

    NOTE, you can also group non-contiguous layers but you can run into problems if you do that. You can group layers next to each other by clicking on the first layer you want to include and Shift+clicking on the last layer you want to include. In the Layers panel, highlight the layers you want to group together.So … onward! Now that you know a couple additional reasons to use Layer groups, let me give you the quick “HOW TO”. Also, if my page is too personal I will have blurred out text for web posting. I like to keep my journaling in a Layer group because when I create pages about one of my kids I always have two different versions of the journaling one where I’m writing TO my son or daughter (for their book) and one where I’m writing ABOUT my son or daughter (for my family album).When I’ve got a frame that holds multiple photos, I group the frame and the photos together.When I create a two-page 24”x12” layout I like to create a master group for the left side page and a master group for the right side page of the two-page layout.Once I’ve completed my page I delete the unused photos because they make the PSD file so much larger. I keep the photo group copy so that when I’m finished resizing my photos I can swap in a fresh photo from the copied photo group if necessary. Resizing photos repeatedly can degrade the image quality. I do this because oftentimes as I create my page I repeatedly size my photos much larger and much smaller.

    how to make a new file on photoshop using groups

    I then turn off the visibility of that copied photo group. Once I’ve got all of my photos pulled in I copy all of the photos and group the copy in a Layer group. Why? When I create a page, the first thing I do is pull onto my blank canvas all of the photos I may want to include. I use Layer groups for a backup grouping of the photos I’m thinking of using on my page.I can also easily move the entire cluster around – as a group – and see what it looks like on other parts of my page. When I create a cluster of elements on a page, I create a Layer group so that I can toggle the cluster on and off with the click of one button.Before I go into the “How-To” I’ll quickly share with you a couple other ways, in additional to organization, in which I use Layer groups in my regular workflow: Why use Layer groups? First, they are great for keeping the Layers panel organized, but they serve other purposes as well. You can open (expand) the Layer group and see its contents (a multitude of layers or subgroups) or you can close (contract) the Layer group and all those layers are still there but they’re out of sight. What is a Layer group? A Layer group is basically a virtual file folder you create in the Layers panel. I’ll share that information at the end of my post. Have no fear though! I talked with some of my Scrapaneers Peers and they shared with me that there is an action set you can purchase that allows you do this. Unfortunately Photoshop Elements does not. Layer groups keep the Layers panel manageable. I don’t know about you, but there are times when I’m making a complex page that I can easily have over 100 layers in the Layers panel. I’m here to talk about a way you can organize your Layers panel using Layer groups to make editing your document so much easier. We all know that when we create a layout in Photoshop the Layers panel can get pretty messy with lots and lots (and lots!) of layers.








    How to make a new file on photoshop using groups